History Maker Awards

Who are your local history superheroes?

Do you know someone who has restored a historic building, created an educational program related to our county history or devoted a lifetime to preserving our heritage? These awards recognize individuals, organizations, and communities who have made outstanding contributions to the study, practice, and preservation of Manitowoc County, Wisconsin history.

Six distinct awards with varying criteria are presented annually by the Manitowoc County Historical Society.

Nomination forms can be found at the museum and below. Awards will be given out at our Annual Meeting.  Nominations are due by January 15. 

Award Categories

Hugo and Eleanor Vetting Restoration/adaptive reuse

The Hugo and Eleanor Vetting Restoration or Adaptive Reuse Award recognizes restorations and adaptations of historic structures.  A project preserves or replicates the majority of the original interior and exterior building materials to an earlier condition and appearance based on historical or physical evidence and the same or a related building use is often enabled to continue.  These awards are open to projects completed within Manitowoc County within the last three years. The award is named after the Vetting family, who paved the way for Manitowoc County's largest restoration project - Pinecrest Historical Village - with the donation of their 40 acre farm.

Armond Kueter Educator Impact

Established in honor of longtime MCHS leader and volunteer Armond Kueter, the Educator Impact Award celebrates and empowers outstanding educators. The Armond Kueter Educator Impact Award recognizes a community educator who empowers the next generation to discover the stories of our past.

Lisa Rohrer Square Nail FOR VOLUNTEER SERVICE (This award is given at the DISCRETION of Mchs staff)

In 2010, we lost a wonderful volunteer and member of our MCHS family, Lisa Rohrer.  She inspired us with her strength and her ability to overcome challenges.  It is in her memory that we present our Annual Lisa Rohrer Volunteer Service award. Volunteers must have completed service to MCHS in the current year and has completed long-term volunteer achievement.

Dillon Mueller Youth Service

Dillon Mueller served his community well as an Eagle Scout and assisted with many projects for MCHS.  It is in his honor and memory that we will present the Dillon Mueller Youth Service Award.  Volunteers must be under the age of 21 and have completed volunteer work for MCHS in the last 3 years. 

Emil Baensch Advocacy

This award is presented to a group, business or government entity that promotes an awareness of Manitowoc County History through exemplary activities, projects, programs, services, or publications. Named after the Society's first president and founding member, the award is given to honor an advocate for local history preservation, outreach, or project.

Bob Fay Lifetime Achievement

Named after our first Director, the Bob Fay Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has a long and outstanding history of dedication and distinguished service to the cause of history in Manitowoc County. 


Nominations are due by January 15.